In May 1963, 32 Heads of independent African states met in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia to sign the Charter creating Africa’s first post-independence continental institution and established The Organisation Of Africa Unity (OAU). The organisation drove the pan-Africa vision for an Africa that was united, free and in control of its own destiny.  The founding fathers recognized that freedom; equality, justice and dignity were essential for Africans.

2020 African Union Theme: Source

The main purposes are to promote understanding among Africa’s people and foster cooperation between African states in response to the aspiration of Africa solidarity and unity that transcends ethnic group. In 2002, OAU became Africa Union (AU). Now there are 55 members including South Sudan. Current strategic framework is AU’s Agenda 2063 which calls for greater collaboration and support for African led initiatives to ensure the achievement of the aspirations of African people.